|Forum Home > Islam in Focus > E CODES' MYSTERY|
E codes are codes sometimes found on food labels in the European Union (GB, France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Portugal, etc.) The code indicates an ingredient which is some type of food additive. The E indicates that it is a "European Union approved" food additive.
According to a report published on 16th November 2007, sited at RINF.com, an independent researcher Ian Crane claimed that "Food Codes are a hidden agenda of taking over the world by surprise by Committee on Nutrition and Food for Special Dietary and Pharmaceutical companies along with their stakeholder to hide the truth from public". In this regard a law was later passed on December 31, 2009., the law meant to take away the consumer’s right to know the provenance and content of food.
It is important for a Muslim to browse through the code before purchasing any food item(s) off the grocery shelf while travelling or living in European countries or even in his/her homeland. So, here I gathered a list most common E-codes in accordance with the Muslims' law for consumption of item(s). The following keyword(s) suggests their status.
Key word: Halal is lawful; Haram is Prohibited and Mushbooh is dubious(In accordance with Quran)
E100 Curcumin, turmeric [Colouring] Halal
E122 Carmoisine, Azorubine [Colouring] Halal
E155 Brown HT, Chocolate brown HT [Colouring] Halal
E200 Sorbic acid [Preservative] Halal
E260 Acetic acid [Preservative] [Acidity regulator] Halal
E322 Lecithin [Emulsifier] Mushbooh; halal if it is from soy fat or egg yolk; haram if it is from animal fat
E422 Glycerol [Emulsifier] [Sweetener] [possibly of animal origin] Mushbooh
E436 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan tristearate (polysorbate 65)[Emulsifier] [possibly of animal origin] Mushbooh
E631 Disodium inosinate [Flavour enhancer] [possibly of animal origin] Mushbooh
E640 Glycine and its sodium salt [Flavour enhancer] [possibly of animal origin] Mushbooh
E1518 Glyceryl triacetate (triacetin) [Humectant] Mushbooh
E120 Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines [Colouring] [animal origin] Haram
E161b Lutein [Colouring] Haram
E161g Canthaxanthin [Colouring] Haram
E252 Potassium nitrate (Saltpetre) [Preservative] Haram
E430 Polyoxyethylene ( 8 stearate [Emulsifier] [Stabiliser] [possible allergic reaction] Haram
E431 Polyoxyethylene (40) stearate [Emulsifier] Haram
E441 Gelatine [Emulsifier] [Gelling agent] [animal origin] Haram
E634 Calcium 5'-ribonucleotides [Flavour enhancer] Haram
E635 Disodium 5'-ribonucleotides [Flavour enhancer] [possibly of animal origin] Haram
E920 L-cysteine hydrochloride [Improving agent] [animal origin] Haram
E921 L-cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate [Improving agent] [animal origin] Haram
If this is the case then we are going to live in world full of mistrust and dishonesty!